Advocacy Project Reflection

Hey all, I recently went to the state debate tournament for high schoolers here in Virginia in order to talk to them about debating in college. It was a fairly successful event, as I was able to talk to about 30 different high school debaters who were at least mildly interested in learning about college debate. I had some problems though, as I was outshined by another school doing the same thing, and wasn’t able to properly talk to any of the high school debaters like I wanted to. However, this experience was excellent because it helped me learn what I need to be saying to high school debaters in order to advertise college debate, and how I need to be saying it. Considering that I’m more than likely going to conduct this event several more times in the future in some form, I’m pretty happy with my results.

Leave a Reply

